Lock guide to help you with your home insurance

While there are several home insurance companies which include a visual guide for you to determine the type of locks you are using not all of them will do so. Also, there is a list of approved and not approved locks by insurance companies. Make no mistake: badly installed locks will also cause a home insurance being turned down, unless you get a good, certified locksmith to have it repaired to change altogether. But let’s see how we identify locks.

Before we get started let’s quickly enlist the 3 key types of approved BSI British Standard locks. The one key thing to learn about these approved locks is that they all have the trademark kite logo engraved in them. Most locksmith services in Manchester work only with such sort of locks by default, but if you don’t seem to see the trademark logo on a new lock that’s to be installed, don’t hesitate to bring it up.

Cylinder locks

These are the some of the most common types of locks. As these can be easily snapped especially the older types, call a locksmith service in Manchester to have them changed to a newer, more secure type of modern cylinder lock. This is why all these locks must have the kite (BSI standard) logo.

Mortice locks

This is the most commonly used lock which requires a key from both ends to open the lock. In the United Kingdom, a mortice lock need to comply with the British Standard Nr. BS3621. This also means that the lock needs to have the BSI logo featured, it has to have a specific design that prevents breakage or break-ins and you may also need to check for 5 levers that are marked on the face plate. Mortice locks also have deadlock types which means they do not have the handle at both ends but a thumb on the outside that generally cannot be turned.

Night latches

Latches are a good addition on any door and they are frequently used on toilet doors as well both at home, in office or in any other commercial buildings. The home insurance company will require you to feature the number of night latches used, especially on entrance doors or doors which can be used as an entrance ( such as doors which lead inside the house from the garage or other supporting building).

There are two key types of night latches most required by insurance companies:

Standard: these lock the door automatically unless the snub is used to hold it back

Deadlocking: locks automatically and needs a key to open from the outside. These are the ones which are more frequently used on entrance doors.

Pay attention that night latches should only be added as extra locks as they are not accepted as only locks by most insurers.

Multi-point lock systems

These use three locking points at the very least and these are standard addition to UPVC doors. All the locks move in parallel with the movement of the key and lock the door horizontally. These are also suggested to be used on garage and patio doors too. The three locking points are generally a minimum requirement by insurance companies.